Awards and Honors

Awards & Honors


Pui-Yan Kwok, MD, PhD

Received the 2017 Distinguished Service Award from the University of Chicago Medical & Biological Sciences Alumni Association. The award recognizes Dr. Kwok’s outstanding leadership and contributions to the biological sciences and medicine through research, clinical care, and professional service.


Lauren Weiss, PhD

Awarded the 2016 Chancellor Diversity Award. See article.

Esteban Burchard, MD, MPH

Awarded the Innovations in Health Equality — Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Thoracic Society.


John Kane, MD, PhD

Awarded the Robert I. Levy Award this year for research in lipid metabolism and genomics.

Louis J. Ptáček, MD

Received the the American Society for Clinical Investigation’s Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award. See article.

Ophir Klein, MD, PhD

Awarded the E Mead Johnson Award from the Society for Pediatric Research. See award details.


Sharon Chung, MD

Awarded the School of Medicine Irene Perstein Award. See article.

Yuet Wai Kan, MD, DSc, FRS

Named the Pioneer Award winner at the 2014 Silicon Valley Personalized Medicine World Conference (PMWC). See article.


Rahul C. Deo, MD, PhD

Received the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award for innovative, high-risk, high-reward research. See article.

Esteban G. Burchard, MD, MPH

Awarded the Harry Hind Distinguished Professorship by the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences for his role as Director of the Center for Genes, Environments & Health. The Professorship was endowed in the School of Pharmacy in honor of Harry W. Hind, a pharmacist and inventor who graduated from the UC School of Pharmacy, a predecessor of the UCSF School of Pharmacy.

Matthew State, MD, PhD

Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. See article.

Nadav Ahituv, PhD

Recipient of the Leon I. Goldberg Young Investigator Award of the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT)


Ying-Hui Fu, PhD
Louis J. Ptáček, MD

Joint recipients of 2012 UCSF Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecture AwardSee article

Louis J. Ptáček, MD

Elected to National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors bestowed on scientists and engineers in the United States. See article

Jennifer Puck, MD

Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. See article


Robert Nussbaum, MD

Recipient of the 2011 Klaus Joachim Zülch Neuroscience Prize by the Gertrud Reemtsma Foundation in Germany for his Parkinson’s disease discoveries. See article


Ophir Klein, MD, PhD
Lauren Weiss, PhD

Drs. Klein and Weiss both received the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Each individual award covers up to $1.5 million in research costs over five years. See article

Walter L. Miller, MD

Awarded Duke University’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. See article

Neil Risch, PhD

Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. See article


Walter L. Miller, MD

Professor Miller was awarded the UCSF Academic Senate’s Ninth Annual Distinguished Clinical Research Lecturer. See article

Esteban Gonzalez Burchard, MD, MPH

Elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation. Established in 1908, the ASCI is one of the oldest medical honor societies in the US. More than 2,800 physician-scientists from all medical specialties are elected members of the Society based upon their records of achievement in biomedical research.

Kathy Giacomini, PhD

Awarded the 2009 Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award. Dr. Giacomini is the first woman to receive the Award. The Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award was established in 1978 by the late William B. Rawls, MD, a New York physician and the father of the modern organizational structure of American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, to recognize midcareer clinical pharmacologists who make an outstanding contribution to improved patient care through drug research.


Louis J. Ptáček, MD

Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers.


Louis J. Ptáček, MD

Elected to the Institute of Medicine, part of the National Academy of Sciences. Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine is a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on issues related to human health. With their election, members make a commitment to devote a significant amount of volunteer time as members of IOM study committees.


Yuet Wai Kan, MD, DSc, FRS

Honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Society of Chinese Bioscientists in America. It is the first time the award has been presented. Dr. Kan is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and was recently named to the Institute of Medicine. His previous honors also include the Helmut Horten Research Award in 1995, the American College of Physicians Award in 1988, the Waterford Award in Biomedical Sciences in 1987, the Allan Award of the American Society of Human Genetics and the Gairdner International Award in 1984, the Dameshek Award from the American Society of Hematology in 1979, Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine in 2004, and the distinguished Albert Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award, the nation’s most prestigious honor in the clinical research field, in 1991. See article

Jane Gitschier, PhD

Selected as a Guggenheim Fellow for her work on the genetic basis of absolute-pitch perception. Guggenheim Fellowships are grants to selected individuals to help provide them with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible.

Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD, PhD

Named first Charles J. Epstein Chair in Human Genetics. Established in 2006 by the Institute for Human Genetics in partnership with the Department of Pediatrics, the chair honors Dr. Charles J. Epstein.